World Book Day 2018

World Book Day 2018

Oi Goat! by Kes Gray

Created for World Book Day, Oi Goat! is the next hilarious rhyming picture book from award-winning Kes Gray and Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Jim Field, following the bestselling Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat!

“Simply fantastic! This book is everything any child could need to celebrate World Book Day and develop their love of reading books. Fans of the Oi! series won’t be dissapointed and it’s a brilliant introduction for those that haven’t read the other books yet. Goat finds out that each animal has their own special clothes to dress up in, and some even wear costumes! Leo found the illustrations delightfully hilarious – he couldn’t get over some of the costumes!”

EB87 read to LA12, age 5

“We were very excited to read Oi Goat! as we are big fans of the ‘Oi…’ series of books. We already have Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! and would highly recommend them. Oi Goat! did not disappoint. It has some amazingly bold and colourful illustrations and a story that will have the whole family laughing out loud”

Amy read to Noah, age 7 and Flynn, age 4

Read if you loved: Oi Dog!  /  Oi Frog!  /  Oi Cat!

My Book About Me by Mr Silly by Adam Hargreaves

Mr Silly’s story began with himself, but then he decided to include his friends. He knew that if his friends were in the book then they would want to read it, just like you. Enjoy this very silly book about Mr Silly’s book!

“Perhaps the highest recommendation for the book – on finishing it Sophie said “I could write a book about me, with my friends Evelyn, Emma and Molly in it…….” and wandered off to find some paper and pencils. Mission accomplished.”

Kathryn read to Sophie, age 4

“Another great addition to the Mr Men series, Mr Silly decides to write a book about himself using a carrot for a pen! As usual it contains all the silly things Mr Silly gets up to like buying a book one page at a time. Mr Silly realises he needs to include some of his friends so this book includes some of the favourite Mr Men. Great story, nice length and very jolly.”

Ragdollkhan read to Ragdollkhanbaby, age 6

Read if you loved: Mr Men Books

Paddington Turns Detective and Other Funny Stories by Michael Bond

In this book three classic Paddington Bear stories, by master storyteller Michael Bond, are brought together for the first time in this special collection for World Book Day. Nothing is ever straightforward when Paddington is involved. Whether he is attempting detective work, helping to sail a boat or performing magic, ordinary things have a habit of becoming quite extraordinary! Laugh out loud with everyone’s favourite bear from Darkest Peru!

“Another absolute classic, we hadn’t really got into Paddington in our house until now, when Paddington Turns Detective to try and find the missing prize marrow you cannot help fall in love again with the character and to be able to introduce Paddington to my son has been magical. Fabulous storylines, great illustrations as expected very highly recommended.”

Ragdollkhan read to Ragdollkhanbaby, age 6

“A truly wonderful book that both of my children loved (5 and 3yrs). Well written and kept them engaged throughout. The fact it is broken up into short stories makes them just about perfect for bedtime.”

tuffbrand-from-kettering read to Mont, age 5 and Con, age 3

Read if you loved: Paddington Bear Books

Nadiya’s Bake Me a Story by Nadiya Hussain

Join Britain’s favourite baker Nadiya and her children for scrumptious stories and delicious bakes for all the family to enjoy. With illustrations by Clair Rossiter, this is a unique combination of storybook and cookbook.

“I read Nadiya’s Bake me a Story with my mum before I went to bed. I like the stories especially the twist Nadia puts on them the Elves and the chouxmaker was especially funny.”

Belllboo, age 10

“This is a lovely little book with two very entertaining stories which both of my children really enjoyed listening to. ‘The Little Red Hen and her Bread Friends’ and ‘The Elves and the Choux Maker’ are both modern takes on traditional stories and my children really liked them. They were even more delighted that the bread and the curry recipes from the stories were included in the book too so we’re all looking forward to trying those out at the weekend.”

Pamadew read to Madmoo, age 7 and Ewbomb, age 4

Read if you loved: Nadiya’s Bake Me a Story

The Baby Brother from Outer Space! By Pamela Butchart

When Haroon’s mum brings his baby brother into school, Izzy and her friends are ALARMED! The baby is clearly using mind control because the office ladies start squeaking and saying made-up words. He writes strange messages with his blocks and he REALLY LIKES SCHOOL DINNERS! But it’s when he’s caught speaking in an alien language on his ‘phone’ that they know. Haroon’s baby brother is from outer space and he’s trying to BEAM THEM ALL UP!!!

“A fantastic book our 6yr old found it so funny and toilet talk is alway amusing for all ages. Great text easy to read on your own or reading aloud at bed time. We had lots of giggles. A great read.”

Funky bear read to Little bear, age 6

“I Like the characters because they were funny. i like the pictures there were funny … This book was funny throughout and kept me interested. Easily read by a 7 year old independently.”

Freya, age 7

Read if you loved: Pamela Butchart

Terry’s Dumb Dot Story: A Treehouse Tale by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton

Meet Andy and Terry, the co-creators of Terry’s Dumb Dot Story. They make books together in the world’s coolest treehouse! But this time they can’t agree about a special story for World Book Day – and it’s not just Mr Big Nose keeping an eye on them now, but the story police too!

“Very amusing story about Andy the story teller letting Terry the illustrator have a go at writing a story. Terry realises it is not as simple as it seems. It has got my 6 year old writing his own books (some with dots!) A great fun book and perfect for world book day.”

Ragdollkhan, age 6

“I LOVED this story. I love the Tree House stories and this was brilliant too. The illustrations are amazing and the story was very funny. Andy, the narrator, lets Terry, the illustrator, have a turn of writing and he realises how tricky it can be until he comes up with his dot story. I would highly recommend this book to children aged 7+.”

Josh, age 9

Read if you loved: The Tree House Books

Brain Freeze by Tom Fletcher

The End… I know that’s not how stories usually start. But my story is about time travel. And not everything happens in the right order… Izzy’s grandpa was an ice-cream man, and he used to tell the BEST stories. There was the one about giving a 99 Flake to a Pharaoh in Ancient Egypt – and another about feeding a Fab to a hungry T-Rex. But what if they weren’t just stories? What if that blue ice-cream van had a secret magic of its own? Intrigued? Then open this World Book Day book and prepare to get frozen in time…

“This is a very funny book, and I love the idea of a time travelling ice cream van. The storyline is unique and witty, perfect for fans of David Walliams… every page was packed with action, humour and plenty of emotion. I loved it!”

Edie May, age 10

“I think that most kids will love this book no matter what age or of they are a boy or girl. There are also some fantastic pictures to look at.”

Belllboo, age 10

Read if you loved: The Creakers

The Bolds’ Great Adventure by Julian Clary

Fasten your seatbelts – it’s a special adventure for World Book Day with Teddington’s wildest family! Learn just how our intrepid hyenas managed to get from their African safari park onto the plane and off to their new home in England. It’s quite a remarkable, and some would say, unbelievable tale – but there are many laughs along the way!

“This story is weird and I love it! Its funny because at the start it just seems like a normal story and then when Mr and Mrs Bold tell Betty and Bobby (Mr and Mrs Bolds children) a bedtime story Its gets crazy. I like that Mr Bold loves telling jokes. When he tells a joke in the story I stop reading and tell my brother the joke. The secret is really funny and altogether the story is great.”

Giggle, age 10

“The book was hilarious with a variety of jokes. It was really unexpected and the Bolds were so clueless. I really liked the book and I would recommend it to anyone 7+ and anyone who loves hysterical and exciting books.”

Neve, age 10

Read if you loved: The Bolds

The Girl Who Thought She Was A Dog by Clare Balding

A funny and heart-warming new animal story published especially for World Book Day 2018, from brilliant and best-selling author Clare Balding.

“A wonderful story especially perfect for those who love dogs. It tells the story of Fennel growing up and how she acts like a dog. This is because she has a great relationship with her dog Twiglet. The characters in this book are likeable and the plot is funny and heartwarming. The Tony Ross illustrations are a added bonus to what is already a fantastic book. My favourite character is Fennel because she is quirky.”

Addie, age 7

“This book is fantastic to read. This book is about a girl fennel who when she is born has a fantastic relationship with her family dog called twiglet. They have such a great bond that fennel starts to think she’s a dog and act like one. Obviously this isn’t good when it come to her going to school and twiglet trys to help her. This book if has fantastic illustrations too. I’d definitely recommend this book for the dog lovers and anyone who wants to read a fantastic book.”

Leon, age 11

Read if you loved: Clare Balding

Marvel Avengers The Greatest Heroes

This special World Book Day 2018 book is full of fascinating facts about everyone’s favourite team of Super Heroes – Marvel’s Avengers. From amazing heroes to dastardly villains, Marvel Avengers: The Greatest Heroes explores children’s favourite Marvel Comics characters including Black Panther, Captain America, Black Widow, Ant-Man, Scarlet Witch and many more.

“My son loved this book. It’s packed with information about all of your favourite Avengers superheroes, including pictures, factfiles and quizzes… One of the best things about the book was that it introduced the Avengers as comic book characters, as well as movie stars. This might work as an introduction to seeking out the comic books and reading them for some readers. This is a bright and colourful book which any superhero fan will love.”

redrosemummy read to Bud, age 7

“This Avengers book is filled with facts and really colourful pictures. It introduces all the Avengers characters that people know from the movie franchise but also some of the comic book favourites too. It is perfect for any fans of superheroes. This book is simple enough for younger readers yet also interesting for older kids who are into Marvel.”

Rory, age 10

Read if you loved: Marvel Avengers

Spend your £1 World Book Day voucher at one of our stores to receive a loyalty card for 20% OFF all kids’ books every time you shop! Valid from the 19th March – 31st December 2018! Terms and conditions apply.