Top 10 New Books for April

Top 10 New Books for April

Villa America – Liza Klaussmann

1. Villa America – Liza Klaussmann

The second novel from the author of the bestselling ‘Tigers in Red Weather’ – a Richard and Judy Book Club pick from 2013 – Liza’s latest novel is set in the South of France in the 1920’s and upholds the incredible standard of writing set in her debut. Based on the real-life inspirations for Fitzgerald’s ‘Tender is the Night’, Villa America was a real house built by Sara and Gerald Murphy on the French Riviera. The couple would escape there for flamboyant and glamorous parties full of decadence and indulgence in the 1920’s. Ernest Hemingway, Pablo Picasso and Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald are among the guests that attend the summer house in Liza’s Villa America, setting the bar for style, artistic genius and flamboyancy high. But the golden age can’t last forever, and when tragedy strikes it seems that things will have changed for good.

All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully – Carrie Hope Fletcher

2. All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully – Carrie Hope Fletcher

You may better know Carrie Hope Fletcher from her roles as an actress and singer, and as the vlogger behind Youtube channel ItsWayPastMyBedTime. Carrie’s videos are known for providing big sisterly advice to teens, with videos on everything from bullies to onesies. In her new book, Carrie reflects on her own experiences of growing up and her thoughts on the process of becoming an adult, but also provides plenty of advice and support for young people to connect with. With a down-to-earth, relatable persona and plenty of wisdom, humour and grounded thoughts to share, Carrie’s guide embodies an optimistic and supportive outlook on life that many young people will find comfort in.

Interesting: My Autobiography – Steve Davis

3. Interesting: My Autobiography – Steve Davis

Steve Davis OBE is widely regarded as one of the greatest snooker players of all time, and is one of the sport’s most iconic figures. Steve’s golden era was the 1980’s, during which he won the World Championship six times and was ranked world #1 for seven consecutive seasons. Most fans best remember Steve for the gripping 1985 World Championship against Dennis Taylor, and for being the first player to complete snooker’s Triple Crown when he won the UK Championship, World Championship and the Masters in the same season. In his newly released memoir, Steve takes us through the experience of going from a Romford rookie to the top of the game, as well as behind the scenes of the smoky snooker halls and the psychological effects of success. All written with the sharp wit that Steve has become known for, this is truly an intriguing insight into one of the world’s greatest sportsmen.

Blood on Snow – Jo Nesbo

4. Blood on Snow – Jo Nesbo

There’s always a stir of excitement in the office when we hear that a new Jo Nesbo book is coming out, and his new noir novella was no different. Moving away from his well-loved Harry Hole series, in this book we meet Olav, a professional hit man hired by dangerous criminal Daniel Hoffman. Olav is the ultimate anti-hero, and his fantasies of a happy life with the woman of his dreams – who doesn’t know his exists – wins our sympathies effortlessly. But when Olav is then hired to kill her, his life quickly descends into chaos and a race to survive. Written with a poetic quality, Jo Nesbo will draw you in quickly and won’t let you leave the edge of your seat until the last page.

The Jolley-Rogers and the Cave of Doom – Johnny Duddle

5. The Jolley-Rogers and the Cave of Doom – Johnny Duddle

Jim Lad and the Pirates Next Door return in Jonny Duddle’s highly illustrated fiction title The Jolley-Rogers and the Cave of Doom. Stunningly illustrated throughout but with hilarious full length text too, this is perfect for fans of The Jolley Rogers who are continuing to grow and develop their love for reading. A day at the beach doesn’t turn out quite as planned when one by one the Jolley-Rogers venture into a cave and don’t come back out. Jim Lad eventually finds that the family have been bewitched by a stash of magical treasure kept within the cave by a sea witch. It’s left to Matilda and Bones to rescue the family from the evil sea witch and her treasure.

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination – J. K. Rowling

6. Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination – J. K. Rowling

James Corden tweeted this week “Just when you couldn’t love @JK_Rowling anymore, she says the very thing everyone needs to hear” about this new release. Sourced from her famous 2008 speech at Harvard University, J. K. Rowling’s inspirational words are aimed at anyone who has become dissatisfied with their life. Asking questions about life and providing an honest and reflective view on failure and success, this speech has offered wisdom and motivation for many of us around the world, and the book is intended to inspire further. Profits from this book will be shared between J. K. Rowling’s charity Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard University.

How I Lost You – Jenny Blackhurst

7. How I Lost You – Jenny Blackhurst

We have heard great things about this book and domestic noir fans in the office have been eagerly awaiting its release. Emma’s loved ones, doctor and the police all tell her that she killed her baby son Dylan before ending up in Oakdale Psychiatric Institute, although she has no memory of what happened. Now Emma has been released on parole with a new identity and a chance to start again. But when a letter addressed to Emma’s old identity – Susan Webster – turns up at her door with a photograph of a toddler named Dylan inside, everything Emma has been told is thrown into question.

Barefoot at the Lake – Bruce Fogle

8. Barefoot at the Lake – Bruce Fogle

Barefoot at the Lake is the new release by veterinarian and pet care/travel author Bruce Fogle OBE. Also known for being father to adventurer Ben Fogle, Bruce shares his boyhood tales of nature, animals, landscape and people in this charming memoir. Set on the edge of a lake in the Ontario Wilderness, Barefoot at the Lake is an account of one particular summer when Bruce became more aware of his surroundings and the complicated world of adults. Wonderfully funny and poignant, Bruce introduces us to a variety of memorable characters – both human and not – including his dog Angus, his heartbroken uncle, a tame seagull named Popeye and the best peach-pie baker on the North American continent; Mrs Nichols. This is a story that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final page.

If You Find This – Matthew Baker

9. If You Find This – Matthew Baker

A quirky and touching debut that kids that loved Holes and The Goonies are sure to enjoy. Eleven year old Nicholas’s family is in financial trouble and they may have to leave the house they love. But when Nicholas’s senile grandfather is released from prison and shares stories of hidden treasure, Nicholas thinks he might have the answer to their troubles. Putting his talent for maths to use and relying on some unlikely characters, Nicholas is swept along on a mysterious adventure to find his grandfather’s treasure and save the family house.

What She Left – T. R. Richmond

10. What She Left – T. R. Richmond

This is another book that has had domestic noir fans talking, perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Before I Go To Sleep and The Husband’s Secret. Alice Salmon is dead after an apparent tragic drowning and her family and friends have been left devastated. Professor Jeremy Cooke is an academic who has become fixated on figuring out who Alice was before she died by piecing together her diaries, text messages and online presence. But the deeper Jeremy searches, the more secrets he discovers, not just about love and obsession but about himself. A truly haunting and unforgettable debut, this may not be the last we hear from T. R. Richmond.

Let us know which book you’re most looking forward to being released in April in the comments box below.