Jojo Moyes: 5 Books to Read if you Enjoyed Me Before You

Jojo Moyes: 5 Books to Read if you Enjoyed Me Before You

Behind The Scenes At The Museum – by Kate Atkinson

Bunty had never wanted to marry George, but here she was, stuck in a flat above the pet shop in an ancient street beneath York Minster, with sensible and sardonic Patrica aged five, greedy cross-patch Gillian who refused to be ignored, and Ruby…Ruby Lennox tells the story of The Family, from the day at the end of the nineteenth century when a travelling French photographer catches frail beautiful Alice and her children, like flowers in amber, to the startling, witty, and memorable events of Ruby’s own life.

“This is the book that showed me the power of voice in a book. It is not just expertly constructed, but funny, painful, tragic and has a completely original plot and characters I have never seen on any other pages. I read it three times and then started work on my own fourth book – the one that finally got me published. Whenever I mention that this is one of my all-time favourite novels, I can usually be sure that someone in the audience will also shout: me too!” – Jojo Moyes

Tender Is The Night by F Scott Fitzgerald

While holidaying at a villa on the French Riviera, Dick and Nicole Diver, a wealthy American couple, meet the young film star Rosemary Hoyt. Her arrival causes a stir in their social circle and exposes the cracks in their fragile marriage. As their relationship unravels, the glimpses of their troubled past emerge, and a series of disturbing events unfolds.

“This is one of those books that etches itself into your subconscious without you realising. I’ve read it three times, probably once a decade, and every time I do I see something different in it. The characters of Rosemary, Nicole and Dick Diver are so complex and so beautifully drawn, the setting vivid, and the book itself is melancholy and haunting, especially once you realise its autobiographical nature. The thing that fascinates me when I’m writing my own stories is the messiness of human relationships, and nowhere is that messiness more in evidence than in here.” – Jojo Moyes

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Mother of three and wife of John-Paul, Cecilia discovers an old envelope in the attic. Written in her husband’s hand, it says: to be opened only in the event of my death. Curious, she opens it – and time stops. John-Paul’s letter confesses to a terrible mistake which, if revealed, would wreck their family as well as the lives of others. Cecilia wants to do the right thing, but right for who? If she protects her family by staying silent, the truth will worm through her heart. But if she reveals her husband’s secret, she will hurt those she loves most…

“This was the first book I read of Moriarty’s, and I immediately went out and bought what I could find of her backlist. She’s one of those writers who shows that commercial fiction can also mean quality fiction, and I’m not surprised that she’s gone onto be a worldwide phenomenon. She takes ordinary people and puts them in extraordinary circumstances, and her wit disguises the fact that she often addresses tough issues. She’s a sharp observer of human nature, and a wise one, and – rare for me – I can never guess where the plots are going to go.” – Jojo Moyes

The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes

Helen Walsh’s work as a Private Investigator has dried up, her flat has been repossessed and now some old demons have resurfaced. Not least in the form of her charming but dodgy ex-boyfriend Jay Parker, who shows up with a missing persons case. Money is tight and Jay is awash with cash, so Helen is forced to take on the task of finding Wayne Diffney, the ‘Wacky One’ from boyband Laddz. Playing by her own rules, Helen is drawn into a dark and glamorous world, where her worst enemy is her own head and where increasingly the only person she feels connected to is Wayne, a man she’s never even met.

“No list of mine would be complete without a book by Marian Keyes. Marian is one of the most humane and funny writers working today. But as well as Marian’s usual wit, this book manages two things for me – it showed me more clearly what it must be like to experience clinical depression, so much so that I cried. It also happens to contain the sexiest sex scene set within a relationship that I can remember reading – one that didn’t make me curl my toes in embarrassment. No easy thing to pull off.” – Jojo Moyes

The Kindness by Polly Samson

Julia is married and eight years his senior; Julian is a gifted English student, a life of academia ahead. Ignoring warnings from family and friends they each give up all they have to be together. Their new life in London offers immense happiness, especially after their longed-for daughter Mira is born. When Julian hears that Firdaws, his boyhood home, is for sale he sets out to recreate a lost paradise for his new family. Once again, love blinds him. It is only when Mira becomes terrifyingly ill that it is impossible for Julia to conceal from him the explosive secret that she has been keeping at the heart of their lives.

“Every now and then I read a book and feel deeply envious that I didn’t write it. This was one of those books. It’s dark and sensuous and slightly defies categorisation, as it is both a love story and a mystery that unfolds, layer by layer. It tells truths about modern relationships and the bittersweet relationship of parent to child. I write ‘visually’ and this is a book that is not just beautifully written but stuffed with haunting images – a modern day Paradise Lost. – Jojo Moyes

Make sure you pick up your copy of Still Me in store or online

Still Me – Jojo Moyes

Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship with Ambulance Sam alive across several thousand miles. She steps into the world of the superrich, working for Leonard Gopnik and his much younger second wife, Agnes. Lou is determined to get the most out of the experience and throws herself into her new job and New York life.

As she begins to mix in New York high society, Lou meets Joshua Ryan, a man who brings with him a whisper of her past. Before long, Lou finds herself torn between Fifth Avenue where she works and the treasure-filled vintage clothing store where she actually feels at home. And when matters come to a head, she has to ask herself: Who is Louisa Clark? And how do you reconcile a heart that lives in two places?