Sarah Baker signing Through The Mirror Door – EXPIRED

Sarah Baker signing Through The Mirror Door – EXPIRED

WHSmith Thornbury, BS35 2AR

Saturday 13th April from 10am

Event Information

Come and meet local author Sarah Baker at WHSmith Thornbury on Saturday 13th April from 10am. Sarah will be signing copies of both Eloise Undercover and Through The Mirror Door

Description

Sarah Baker has worked extensively in film, with roles at Aardman Features and the Bermuda Film Festival, and as Story Editor at Celador Films. She has also been a writer and blogger for vintage fashion magazines. Sarah currently lives in South Gloucestershire with her son. Her first book was THROUGH THE MIRROR DOOR, a time-slip ghost story for ages 9+. Her second novel, ELOISE UNDERCOVER, is a thrilling middle-grade adventure set during WW2. Both books are perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Katherine Rundell and Robin Stevens.

Eloise Undercover

France, 1944. 12-year-old Eloise’s father has not come home in over a week, and she is getting worried that something might be badly wrong. When the Germans occupy Eloise’s town, and the Nazi Kommandant moves into Maison de la Noyer, things start falling apart. Through a chance meeting, Eloise volunteers to join the Resistance. Suspense, secrecy and danger follow her as, inspired by her favourite detective fiction books, she tries to find her father. A hidden passage behind a tapestry, a deportation list and a race against time... Will Eloise find her father? And what other secrets will she reveal? Eloise is another example of Baker’s strong and memorable female characters and yet again demonstrates how girls can take the lead. Examining the very contemporary topics of war, loss and fear, this beautifully written story will be enjoyed by fans of detective fiction and authors Katherine Rundell, Emma Carroll and Robin Stevens.

Through The Mirror Door

Since the accident, Angela has been alone. When she is invited on holiday with her cousins, it is her chance to be part of a family again if she promises to behave herself. But secrets lie in the walls of the crumbling French holiday home and the forbidden rooms draw Angela in. Soon night-time footsteps, flickering candlelight and shadows in windows lead her to a boy who needs her help. To save him Angela must discover the truth about what happened in the house all those years ago . . . and face the terrible secret of her own past.






WHSmith events in association with BIC

Terms and Conditions

• Books must be purchased from WHSmith. Proof of purchase may be necessary • Please note we may take photos at the event, as an attendee you consent to photos of you being used for promotional purposes. If you do not want your photo taken, or that of your children, please let a member of the WHSmith store know