Books We’re Loving this Month: June

Books We’re Loving this Month: June

Fiction Book of the Month: Exile – James Swallow

A vicious Serbian gang whose profits come from fake nuclear weapons A disgraced Russian general, with access to the real thing. A vengeful Somali warlord, with a cause for which he’d let the world burn. A jaded government agency, without the information to stop him.

Only one man sees what’s coming. And even he might not be able to prevent it …Racing breathlessly from uncharted CIA prisons to the skyscrapers of Dubai, from stormbeaten oil rigs off the African coast to the ancient caverns beneath the city of Naples, Marc Dane returns in the explosive new thriller from the internationally bestselling author of NOMAD.

Non-Fiction Book of the Month: Nomad – Alan Partridge

Join Norfolk’s finest DJ Alan Partridge, as he embarks on a journey of immense personal significance and self-improvement. Donning his walking books and wind-breaker, Alan braves the wild terrain of (certain parts) of the British Isles. Charting the highs and lows of his odyssey along with his musings of issues big and small, Nomad is a fascinating ‘journey journal’ detailing the people and places he encounters along the way to personal growth.

This is a hilarious book from start to finish, told in Alan Partridge’s inimitable style. An ideal holiday read!

Kids’ Book of the Month: The Racehorse Who Wouldn’t Gallop – Clare Balding

This debut children’s book from Clare Balding is wonderful from start to finish. It’s a classic in the making, warm, exciting and with a brilliant heroine in horse-mad Charlie.

When she accidentally buys a racehorse at the auction, and overhears her Mum and Dad talking about losing their farm she realises that maybe she can hatch a plan to save the family. But her horse Noble Warrior has just one problem – he won’t gallop without his best friend, a small & very greedy pony called Percy. So how can Charlie get Noble Warrior to win the derby and the prize money without him? Well maybe she can’t? Maybe she just needs a brilliant plan. You’ll be rooting for Charlie all the way through in this story of girl power in action.

The Richard and Judy Book Club: I See You – Clare Mackintosh

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation: just a grainy image, a website address and a phone number.

She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that. Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make …

Find out what Richard and Judy think of I See You here.

The Richard and Judy Book Club: Conclave – Robert Harris

The Pope is dead. Behind the locked doors of the Sistine Chapel, one hundred and eighteen cardinals from all over the globe will cast their votes in the world’s most secretive election. They are holy men. But they have ambition. And they have rivals. Over the next seventy-two hours one of them will become the most powerful spiritual figure on earth.

Find out what Richard and Judy think of Conclave here.

The Nation’s Favourite Book: Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier

Working as a lady’s companion, the orphaned heroine of Rebecca learns her place. Life begins to look very bleak until, on a trip to the South of France, she meets Maxim de Winter, a handsome widower whose sudden proposal of marriage takes her by surprise.

Whisked from glamorous Monte Carlo to his brooding estate, Manderley, on the Cornish Coast, the new Mrs de Winter finds Max a changed man. And the memory of his dead wife Rebecca is forever kept alive by the forbidding Mrs Danvers …Not since Jane Eyre has a heroine faced such difficulty with the Other Woman. An international bestseller that has never gone out of print, Rebecca is the haunting story of a young girl consumed by love and the struggle to find her identity.

Find out more about the Nation’s Favourite Book here.

Eat Well for Less – Jo Scarratt-Jones, Chris Bavin and Gregg Wallace

Do you find it difficult to budget for your weekly shop? Are you tempted by impulse buys and special deals? Do you make the same meals week in, week out? Eat Well for Less shows you how to create more nutritious dishes for your family while spending less on your supermarket shop.

As well as 80 delicious recipes, you will find a meal-planning guide, help on freezing and storing food, a family budget planner and lots of ideas to get kids cooking. Learn how to use your leftovers, make savvy swaps and add more fruit and veg to your diet without spending extra time in the kitchen. With tasty food, sample shopping lists and practical tips from Gregg, Chris and the experts from the hit BBC show, this is your essential guide to eating well for less.

Chase – Linwood Barclay

Get ready to run. ..an edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay, in his first novel for children. Chipper is a very special dog. As part of a top-secret, multi-million dollar experiment to create the ultimate canine spy technology, Chipper’s whole life has been spent within the walls of a secret organization known only as The Institute. Chipper is supposed to be more machine than mutt, but something’s wrong and The Institute knows it. He’s about to be terminated.

Across the state, twelve-year-old orphan Jeff Conway is working all hours at his aunt Flo’s lakeside cabin business. He misses his parents, his old life, and the dog he had to leave behind. When Chipper escapes and Jeff finds himself part of the chase, The Institute’s most ruthless agent is hot on their tail, and he wants Chipper dead …at any cost. Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay’s action-packed first novel for children.

Cooking for Family and Friends – Joe Wicks

Do you find it tricky to balance being healthy with cooking for a crowd? Bestselling author Joe Wicks, aka The Body Coach, presents this gorgeous full-colour book featuring more than 100 delicious and nutritious recipes that are perfect for sharing with the special people in your life. Joe has helped hundreds of thousands of people to transform their bodies and feel amazing with his effective workouts and simple recipes.

Cooking for Family and Friends is a beautifully photographed collection of Joe’s easy favourites and crowd-pleasers, such as Roast Chicken with Celeriac Mash and Bacon Greens, BBQ Ribs with Dirty Corn, and Tandoori Chicken Thighs with Chapattis. All the recipes are big on flavour and packed with the hero ingredients you need to impress your mates, fuel your workout and burn fat.

Love Like Blood – Mark Billingham

As DI Nicola Tanner investigates what appears to be a series of organised killings, her partner Susan is brutally murdered, leaving the detective bereft, and vengeful. Taken off the case, Tanner enlists the help of DI Tom Thorne to pursue a pair of ruthless killers and the broker handing out the deadly contracts.

As the killers target their latest victim, Thorne takes the biggest risk of his career and is drawn into a horrifying and disturbing world in which families will do anything to protect their honour. From number one bestseller Mark Billingham comes a masterful, intense crime novel that pits DI Tom Thorne against an evil beyond comprehension, yet shockingly real.

The World’s Worst Children 2 – David Walliams

The brilliant follow-up to David Walliams’ bestseller The World’s Worst Children! Ten more stories about a brand new gang of hilariously horrible kids from everyone’s favourite children’s author, illustrated in glorious full colour by Tony Ross. If you thought you had read about the World’s Worst Children already, you’re in for a rather nasty shock. The beastly boys and gruesome girls in this book are even ruder, even more disgusting and WORSE than you could ever imagine!

This gorgeous hardback collection of ten stories from the master himself, David Walliams, will make you snort with laughter and thank your lucky stars that you don’t know anyone like Gruesome Griselda or Fussy Frankie in real life. It also features a special appearance from fan-favourite Raj! Gloriously illustrated in full colour throughout by artistic genius Tony Ross, The World’s Worst Children 2 is a side-splitting companion to David’s blockbuster hit, The World’s Worst Children, and the perfect gift for kids aged 9 and up.

Betrayal – Martina Cole

Betrayal is the twenty-third novel from Sunday Times No.1 bestseller, Martina Cole, author of DANGEROUS LADY, THE TAKE, GET EVEN and many more. The ‘undisputed queen of crime writing’ (Guardian) and the biggest selling female crime writer in the UK, Martina’s unique, powerful storytelling will appeal to fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.

Survival. It’s all down to who you trust. Aiden O’Hara has been head of the family since he was a kid, and he’s going to keep it that way. Jade Dixon is the one who watches his back. Mother of his son. The one who makes him invincible. But Jade’s been in the game a lot longer than Aiden. She knows no one’s indestructible. And when you’re at the top, that’s when you’ve got to watch the hardest. Especially the ones closest to you . .

Cook Eat Love – Fearne Cotton

More delicious, healthy and simple recipes from Fearne Cotton. Fearne Cotton is one of our best-loved television and radio presenters. She is also a keen healthy baker and young, busy, working mum who has found some great ways to eat well and eat clean. In her first cookbook, Cook Happy, Cook Healthy, Fearne shows us how easy it is to eat delicious food that is good for our bodies and minds.

Her second cookbook will be jam-packed with even more simple, fast and healthy recipes for everything from breakfast and speedy suppers to baked treats. With an eye to food bills and time-poor households, the ingredients are easy to buy and few in number, and the methods very simple.

Never Say Die – Anthony Horowitz

Alex Rider is back in this brand new, explosive mission in the number one bestselling series. In this brand new, explosive adventure in the number one bestselling series, Alex Rider is trying to get his life back on track after the traumatic events of his last mission. But even Alex can’t fight the past … especially when it holds a deadly secret.

Camino Island – John Grisham

All trails became dead-ends. Tips that had at first seemed urgent now faded away. The waiting game began. Whoever had the manuscripts would want money, and a lot of it. They would surface eventually, but where and when, and how much would they want?The most daring and devastating heist in literary history targets a high security vault located deep beneath Princeton University.Valued at $25 million (though some would say priceless) the five manuscripts of F Scott Fitzgerald’s only novels are amongst the most valuable in the world. After an initial flurry of arrests, both they and the ruthless gang of thieves who took them have vanished without trace.

Dealing in stolen books is a dark business, and few are initiated to its arts – which puts Bruce Kable right on the FBI’s Rare Asset Recovery Unit’s watch list.A struggling writer burdened by debts, Mercer Mann spent summers on Florida’s idyllic Camino Island as a kid, in her grandmother’s beach cottage. Now she is being made an offer she can’t refuse: to return to the peace of the island, to write her novel – and get close to a certain infamous bookseller, and his interesting collection of manuscripts…